, , , , ,

Sometimes painting the figure can be rewarding as all hell, and sometimes painting the figure can be boring as fuck. As someone who has painted and drawn the human figure for 20+ years, it was inevitable that I would eventually slip into some form of abstraction. Abstraction is something I’ve always experimented with in the backgrounds of my figurative work, but I’ve never allowed for the abstraction to be at the forefront of the paintings.

Recently I’ve been working on a series of Fight based paintings involving War, Street Fights, Weaponry, and Destruction. As the series evolved a new set of imagery began to form based off references of natural disasters. From there I began to abstract the Natural Disaster imagery into piles of shapes and color. This new idea quickly took hold, and in all honesty was a lot of fun to paint.

I sent 3 of these new piece up to The Breeze Block Gallery for their next big group show on May 2nd, curated by the amazing Mr Sven Davis. The show is titled Wider Than a Postcard and all the art is on post card sized materials. The lineup for the show is extensive and impressive. Not to be missed.

This was the first Natural Disaster painting that precipitated the abstract pieces.

Broke Dream Acrylic and Gouache on Paper 8.5″x11″

These 3 pieces are being shown at Breeze Block Gallery

“Rain Maker-The Flood of 1916 Mission Valley San Diego,California”

“Otay Dam Failure of 1916 San Diego.Ca”

“Hatfield and The Morena Reservoir-San Diego,Ca 1916”

Wider than a postcard

A group exhibition curated by Sven Davis
2 May – 1 June 2013
“It is not easy writing
someone a postcard.
The size and shape
of the card cut you
down to size…”
—Ron Padgett ‘Postcard’
For pre-sales or press inquiries, please email Paige Prendergast, paige@breezeblockgallery.com
Aaron De La Cruz
Aaron Nagel
Adam Wallacavage
Adam Weir
Alex Brown
Alex Lukas
Alex Roulette
Alexey Luka
Alicia Dubnyckyj
Alvaro Ilizarbe
Amy Casey
Andreas Englund
Andres Guerrero
Andrew Hem
Andrew Mackenzie
Andrew McAttee
Andrew Schoultz
Andy Council
Anthony Sneed
Anthony Zinonos
Augustine Kofie
Bill McRight
Blaine Fontana
Bob 2
Brendan Monroe
Brian Donnelly
Brin Levinson
Britta Geisler
Bryce Kanights
Bwana Spoons
Caleb Neelon
Candice Tripp
Carl Cashman
Casey Gray
Chelsea Grolla
Cheryl Dunn
China Mike
Chris Blackstock
Chris Scarborough
Chris Valkov
Christian Mendoza
Christopher Derek Bruno
Clark Goolsby
Clayton Brothers
Coco 144
Cody Hudson
Conrad Crespin
Corey Arnold
Crystal Wagner
Dale Grimshaw
Dana Brown
Dana Louise Kirkpatrick
David Bray
David MacDowell
David O’Brien
David Shillinglaw
Deedee Cheriel
Deth P Sun
Dmitri Fedosseev
Drew Tyndell
Duncan Jago
Edwin Ushiro
Ellannah Sadkin
Emma Tooth
Eric Shaw
Erik Foss
Erik Mark Sandberg
Evah Fan
Francesco Igory Deiana
Frank Gonzales
Gary Taxali
Gen Duarte
Graphic Surgery
Greg Eason
Gregory Euclide
Henry Gunderson
Hilary Pecis
How & Nosm
Ian Francis
Ian Stevenson
Jacob Magraw Mickelson
Jacob Whibley
James Benjamin Franklin
Jason Thielke
Jeff Depner
Jeff Gillette
Jen Corace
Jenny Odell
Jerry Inscoe
Jessica Hess
Jocelyn Duke
Joe Ryckebosch
John Casey
John Petricciani
Jon Burgerman
Jordin Isip
Josh Agle
Josh Keyes
Joshua Krause
Joshua Petker
Jud Bergeron
Judith Supine
Kai & Sunny
Karin Krommes
Katrin Fridriks
Kenji Hirata
Kevin Cyr
Kevin Earl Taylor
Kevin McQuaid
Kevin Peterson
Know Hope
Kyle Jorgensen
Laura Bifano
Lee Baker
Lex Thomas
Louis Reith
LX One
Marilena Staudenmaier
Mario Wagner
Marissa Textor
Mark Dean Veca
Mark Schoening
Mark Warren Jacques
Mary Iverson
Matt Haber
Matthew Craven
Matthew Curry
Matthew Feyld
Melinda Beck
Michael De Feo
Michael Hsiung
Michael Murphy
Michael Peck
Mike Ballard
Mike Egan
Mike Maxwell
Mike Stilkey
Moneyless/Teo Pirsi
Morgan Blair
Mr Penfold
Mysterious Al
Nate Frizzell
Paul Barnes
Pedro Matos
Pete Fowler
Pete Watts
Reginald S. Aloysius
Rey Parla
Rich Jacobs
Richard Colman
Robert Hardgrave
Robert Phoenix
Russell Leng
Ryan Bubnis
Ryan de la Hoz
Ryan Dineen
Ryan Jacob Smith
Saelee Oh
Samahra Little
Scott Listfield
Scott Malbaurn
Shie Moreno
Sidney Pink
Simon Monk
Sloan White
St. Monci
Stephanie Buer
Steve More
Sweet Toof
Sylvia Ji
Teresa Duck
Tim Karpinski
Titi Freak
Tofer Chin
Tom French
Tripper Dungan
William Sager
Winston Smith
Zach Johnsen